Fingerless Mittens or Hand Warmers

I posted about some mittens I had made on my other blog mentioning that I didn’t know if I had the pattern anymore, I was sent this link click here. I decided to make them with smaller size needles since I have such small hands and I didn’t check the finished size. They appeared to be too small so I had to try them on while still on the needles.

They fit! So I finished them, I wore them for a few days and decided I didn’t like the way there was just a hole for the thumb and one of the edges was curling, so I picked up the stitches and knitted thumbs. Then I added the change to the pattern.

Details: I used Caron Simply Soft Worsted Weight 4 ply yarn. I used US Size #6 and #7 double pointed needles (dpn)
My Changes:
Row 16a: Knit
Row 17: K15, slip next 12 sts to st holder (for thumb, using 2 is best) K15 ~ 30 sts
Change to #6 dpn, K 1 rnd.
Top cuff: as in original directions
Thumb: Using #6 dpn, slide sts from holders to needles. Work in K2 P1 ribbing for 4 rnds. BO and weave ends in.

 

1 Comment

  1. >So very cool .. now I have to go get BP needles and practice using them….. I wish this was done on circular needles……..

Leave a Reply

